Posted by: Matthew | January 14, 2008

My Interview With Mir From Woulda Coulda Shoulda

This is my interview with Mir, from Woulda Coulda Shoulda. She has cool kids and can kill giant bugs. Thanks for letting me interview you.

*******************************************************
Where do you live? What is like where you live?
I recently moved to a small-ish town in Georgia. I love it here; there
are fields and livestock but Starbucks and Target, too. I often refer
to it as the perfect Big Little Town. We’re in the middle of the worst
drought the area has seen in 100 years, too, but this week has been
rainy. The advantage of a drought is that you don’t mind so much when
it finally rains.

I know you just moved. Where did you live before? Which house do
you like better?

I used to live in New Hampshire. My new house beats the old house,
hands down. For one thing, we have a pool here (and weather warm
enough to use it more than a month a year). For another, I have my own
office in this house (and in the old one, I just had a corner of the
family room). Finally, in this house the kids can make a lot more
noise without me getting mad, because the sound-proofing between the
upstairs and the downstairs is phenomenal.

What is like being a writer?
It’s tons of fun. I get paid to make stuff up or just write down what
I think. How lucky is that??

You’ve been blogging a long time. What made you want to start blogging?
I actually started blogging because I was sad, and I wanted to stop
feeling so sad all the time. Writing things down had helped me in the
past. And I’d always been pretty good at making other people laugh,
and it turns out that you can’t make people laugh and not end up
laughing, yourself. Blogging is my story of my journey, but it’s also
the greatest reminder in the world not to take things too seriously.

What is it like being a mom?
It’s even better than being a writer. My kids delight me and infuriate
me and prove to me that God does indeed have a wicked sense of humor.

What is your favorite TV show?
Hmmmm. That’s hard. With the WGA strike on I’ve been watching much
less TV. I absolutely love (and miss) The Office. And the original
Iron Chef (not Iron Chef America, but the Japanese version) was my
favorite for years.

I know you guys like The Mythbusters. What is your favorite
episode? I like all of the airplane myths.

We adore Mythbusters. My favorite episode thus far is probably the
Myth Evolution one where they tried to figure out if a ninja could
slap a bullet away. That’s also the one where they tested whether or
not an airbag could break your thumbs if your hands were in the 10 and
2 position on a steering wheel. (I like anything where they play with
ballistics gel. My son always says “THEY’RE MAKING A JELL-O PERSON!”)

When we lived in Colorado, I had to fly to see my dad in CA. Was it
hard to let your kids go on a plane to visit their dad?

My kids are actually too little to fly alone, so thus far we’ve either
driven them back home or their dad has flown with them. It’s always
hard to have them gone, though. I miss them a lot when they’re not
here.

What is the most embarrassing thing that has ever happened to you?
One time when I was in first or second grade, in all of my little-kid
wisdom I decided that underpants were unnecessary if I was wearing
pants. (Don’t ask me how this came about. I was a weird little kid.)
So, I stopped wearing underwear. Until the day the crotch seam split
on my pants when the teacher was making us sit cross-legged in a
circle on the floor. Whoops!

What happens to you when you eat sugar? A lot of sugar?
If I eat a moderate amount of sugar, I get happy! Sugar! Yum! If I eat
a lot of sugar, I get hyper and obnoxious. And then later I get a
headache. Yuck.

What is the most disturbing thing you have ever seen? (Was it that
huge spider you found on your porch?)

Ha! That spider on my porch was pretty bad, yes, but at least it was
outside. Down here in Georgia we’ve had some palmetto bugs INSIDE and
that was much worse. But definitely the worst thing I’ve ever seen was
when the kids and I were in a car accident and my daughter’s head got
split open pretty badly. (She’s fine now and barely has a scar. But it
was pretty awful-looking.)

What is the worst injury you have ever gotten?
I’ve been lucky enough to have very few injuries; I’ve never even
broken a bone! I did fall while jumping on my bed when I was about
four (kids: don’t jump on the bed) and gashed my arm so deeply that it
didn’t even bleed. My mom had to take me to the emergency room. I
still have the scar, over 30 years later.

What is your favorite place just to go and enjoy life?
I’m much less about places and more about who I’m with, actually. But
given a choice, I’ll always pick somewhere with clear blue water and a
nice sandy beach. 🙂

What is the funniest word you have ever heard?
Mastication, because it sounds dirty but it just means chewing. (Are
you sure that you’re the 10-year-old boy, and not me?)

Do you have any special talents?
I can make a clover with my tongue. And wiggle my ears. At the same
time, even. Also, I’m a decent singer and cook. (I like to do those at
the same time, too.)

Responses

  1. […] you have heard of it. Anyway, The Boy interviewed her for his project. It is up at his blog. Thanks, […]

  2. […] reminds me very much of the best characteristics of Monkey and Chickadee, blended together) has posted an interview with me over at his blog, In the Air. This is part of a very special homeschool project Matthew is working […]

  3. Awesome interview, Matthew. Very good questions!

  4. Cool interview. You should totally ask Mir if she’ll let you have free use of her pool any time you want. 🙂

  5. VERY good interview! Those were really good questions!

  6. I think Mir was a great choice to interview! Well done 🙂

  7. Hey, Matthew! Great interview! I’m loving that you have your own blog…. great job!

  8. Nice interview. P.S. Gross bugs are gross, but the cool ones aren’t so bad.

  9. Neato interview. I liked reading it. And good questions too.

  10. Great interview!

  11. Matthew, I think you’ve got a future as a replacement for Matt Lauer. And I LOVE Matt Lauer.
    Great job – I know Mir personally and I learned a few things about her that I didn’t already know. I cannot wait to give her grief over The Great Underwear Incident. Thank you!

  12. Great interview!

  13. Excellent interview!

  14. That was a great inverview! In looking over your archives I noticed that you are a big fan of airplanes. My favorite second oldest nephew is a pilot currently in the Air Force (Air National Guard) flying the C-5. Yesterday he left on a trip to Germany, Spain & Afghanistan. He will go “off orders” at the end of this month and will go back to his regular job flying “poor people” around the US and Caribbean. Once he flew some people to the Bahamas and was parked next to Condi Rice’s plane. Did you know that Air Force One does not refer to an actual airplane, it is the signal used for whatever plane the President is in at the time. The Air Force has two identical 747’s that are usually used by the President but if he is flying in a crop duster on his Texas ranch, that plane is then called Air Force One.

  15. Cool interview! And I love the project of interviewing 100 different people. Good luck!

  16. Excellent interview, Matthew! I’ve been reading Mir for years, and you helped me learn something new about her! I had no idea she could make a clover with her tongue. Or that her favorite word was “mastication.” Great work!

  17. Cool interview… how do you know Mir?

  18. Regular WCS Reader. Great questions! I enjoyed your interview.

  19. Matthew, I hope you got a picture of the clover thing. I have been reading Mir for a long time and this is the first I have heard of such an amazing talent.

  20. Matthew, your questions are perceptive and helped me know Mir better than I have through reading her blog.

    Thanks for taking the trouble to write about the interview.

    Best wishes from snowy Boston, Massachusetts.

  21. Great interview! I never knew so much about Mir. Thanks, Matthew!

  22. Great questions!

    If you hasked me what the most disturbing thing I’ve ever seen was… it would be the pic of Mir’s spider! That thing still haunts me!

    This is a very fun project and I look forward to reading your other interviews!

  23. Those are really great questions. My favorite Mythbusters was the one where they microwaved a giant jawbreaker and it exploded. Exploding candy, what could be better?

  24. Excellent interview, guys!

  25. Believe me, although that clover thing she does with her tongue is truly special, even a little spooky, her most special talent is being able to put her thoughts into words.

  26. Great interview, Matthew. You had great questions for your guest!

  27. Hey Matthew! Great interview!! Thanks for sharing with us. I really enjoyed the questions posed. Looks like you have a cool site here. Keep up the good work.

  28. Great interview, Matthew! Excellent questions.

    I’d like to mention that, just like Mir, I can wiggle my ears and make a clover with my tongue (if indeed that means rolling it). What are your talents?

  29. Great interview, Matt! Good luck with your schooling.

  30. Good interviewers make the interview interesting to read by getting the subject t talk about interesting things. I think you did a great job! This was terrific!

  31. Great interview! I learned new things about Mir. Keep up the writing, I like your blog.

  32. Wow, that was a great interview! I think the next time I have to interview someone – or just talk to a brand new person for a little while, when I don’t know anything about them – I will think of this interview. Thanks, Matthew!

  33. What a lovely interview! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  34. Excellent interview, Matthew! Keep up the good work.

  35. Great job with the interview Mathew! I hopped over from Mir’s blog. I’ll have to show my boys the cool airplane on your page. ~Mrs. Malott

  36. Great interview!

    I LOVE your pool slide in the side pictures!

  37. Great interview – hard to find good questions to ask Mir since we all know so much about her already but you pulled it off. Well done”

  38. Great job! I really enjoyed reading about Mir.

  39. Excellent interview, excellent questions, well done. Fair play to you.

  40. You are a smart cookie! You know, this is the first blog I’ve come across that is written by someone not even old enough to drive that sn’t written in IM speak. I’m impressed. Yay you!

  41. What a nice interview – of course, Mir is a great interviewee – she’s so funny!

    Good job.

    If you’d like , you can interview me too. I work for city government in a field known as “Community Development and Human Services.” I also have done a lot of work with the homeless in my area (CO – which I see you used to live here, see it is a small world, huh?)

  42. Your interview was very interesting. I also enjoyed reading about you and your projects.

    My husband likes airplanes, mostly military style planes from WWI and WWII. We live near Langley Air Force base and see many fighter jets practicing their tactics nearby.

    If you like military planes, you might want to look at Jane’s Fighting Aircraft. They’re very expensive books so you should ask you local library to borrow them. They should be available through inter-library loan.

  43. A very fine interview, Matthew! You did a wonderful job!

  44. So…I read the whole interview and had NO IDEA you were so young! I thought Mir was being sarcastic!

    Excellent interview–I liked your questions–I liked Mir’s answers, too 🙂

    Great blog. I’ll be back!

  45. Well done, Matthew! You definitely got some interesting information out of her. And your questions were wide ranging in their subject matter, as well.

  46. Aloha!
    I am impressed. Good job. Well done!

    I see you are interested in animals, you might like to visit Larry the lamb at http://www.howmanyhorses.com

  47. Great interview!

    My sister started obsessing on planes when she was about your age, and now (despite having terrible amblyopia that couldn’t be fixed, despite being short, despite being a woman) is an award-winning pilot for a Rhode Island airline. She was just incredibly persistent, despite all her obstacles, so if that’s what you want to do, remember to just keep at it!

  48. Well done! Interesting questions. How do you know Mir? Very well written.


Leave a Reply

Categories

