Posted by: Matthew | October 26, 2007

My Interview with Blythe from The Blythe Spirit

This is my interview with Blythe. She has the same favorite color as my mom. Read her interview and see how she got her name. Thanks Blythe!

**************************************************************************

What is it like where you live? Do you like it?
I am American, but I live in southern Germany, in a suburb of Nuernberg. In some ways, it’s just like living in a suburb in the USA. Lots of families live here, and there are nice parks and schools and a few shopping malls and a swimming pool in our town. It’s different from the USA, though, too. Most people live in smaller houses or apartments, and the buildings are very old. In fact, my town is celebrating its 1,000th anniversary this year! That length of time is hard for me to even imagine, considering the United States is not even 1/3 as old as that. Of course there are many Germans that live in my town, but we also have a lot of Turkish neighbors too.

I love living in Europe because I am surrounded by different languages and cultures, and it is easy for us to drive or take the train to visit other countries. Our family has traveled to nine different countries (France, Switzerland, Austria, Holland, England, Scotland, Italy, Spain, Czech Republic) in the two years that we’ve lived here, and we hope to see even more. The most difficult parts about living here are being far away from our friends and family, and trying to learn German. I speak some German, but I am still not able to have a meaningful conversation all in German. Sometimes I feel lonely because it is hard to communicate with the people around me.

I know you have a son.What is it like being a mom?
I like to solve problems, and being a mom means having a new problem to solve every day. Sometimes I get a new challenge every five minutes! Today, I’ve already tried to figure out how to get him back to sleep at 5:00am, why he is scratching his neck all the time, and how to make him happy while I eat my lunch. Before I had a baby, I knew I would have to solve problems all day and I worried that it would be too hard for me, and too frustrating. But even though it is difficult and frustrating sometimes, I enjoy it much more than I thought I would, because I love my son and want help him grow. Also, he makes funny faces and noises that make me laugh. He is only nine months old right now, and I can’t wait until we can talk to each other.

What do you like to do in your free time?
I love to read. Recently I’ve read a bunch of books about chefs and food and working in restaurants. I like to cook and I especially love to eat! I like to dance; I studied ballet for many years but now I just dance around my living room.

I’ve never heard your name before. How did you get your name?
My mother was born in a town called Blythe, in California. It is not a very big city but sometimes I see it on the Weather Channel because it’s often the hottest place in the USA.

What are you afraid of?

Drowning, and moths.

What is your favorite fruit? Why?
I love Clementine oranges that appear at Christmastime. They are sweet and easy to peel and fit right in the palm of my hand.

If you could be any animal, what animal would you be? Why?
I’d like to be a turtle. They eat salad and enjoy lying in the sun and they are good swimmers (so I wouldn’t have to fear drowning) and they can just go home and take a nap at any moment, since they carry their houses with them.

What is the best joke you have ever heard?
If you were to ask me what I’m worst at, I would tell you I’m terrible at remembering and telling jokes. So, sadly, I can’t even remember a great joke to tell you. I do love funny movies, though, and I laughed really hard at “Weekend at Bernie’s,” and at the end of “Little Miss Sunshine.”

What makes you laugh?
My husband’s crazy dancing, my baby when he gets excited and wiggly, and sentences that use words in clever ways.

What is your favorite color? Why?
Brown, because it reminds me of fall and chocolate.

What type of clock do you like better? Analog or digital?
I like analog clocks. Learning to tell time on an analog clock was such an accomplishment, I feel like I should put that skill to good use.

Responses

  1. Afraid of moths, you say? I am afraid of mothballs. Well, I’m allergic to them, actually! 😉

  2. Wow! I thought no one knew where Blythe was and here we have an actual honouree! Cool interview, as always!

    Thanks Matt!

  3. I wonder what it is with your blog and all the Germans or people living in Germany, Matt!

    I thought it would be cool for you to interview someone from Germany (meaning ME) but I guess I’ll have to come up with something really cool now to convince you to interview me… Geez…

    @ Blythe: German is such a difficult language, don’t worry if it takes you long to learn it!

  4. Thanks for interviewing me, Matt! Your questions were thoughtful, as usual, and they were fun to answer.

  5. I just visited Blythe’s blog from your link. She’s got some really cool pictures.

    And, the clock question is back–yeah! (It’s one of my favorites.) ;>


Leave a Reply

Categories

