Posted by: Matthew | October 18, 2007

My Interview with Jessica Dunkin

Please don’t forget to add your name here!

*****************************************************

This is my interview with Jessica Dunkin. She also waited a very long time to be interviewed. Thanks, Jessica!

******************************************************

Where do you live? What is it like where you live?
I live in Northwest Oregon. It’s pretty normal here. It’s never too hot or too cold, but we don’t get a lot of snow in the winter. It just gets very cold and rainy, and sometimes it’s a little frosty. Last year, though, we got a lot of snow and ice, and they closed school for two days (which almost never happens in college.) I live close to the beach and close to the mountains and close to the city, so it’s pretty much the perfect place to live. You should visit some time. Plus, we have a cheese factory that gives you free samples of cheese. And that’s awesome.

I don’t think I want to go to college because I hate school. What is it like being in college?
I didn’t think I wanted to go to college either, but I’m really happy I did. College is a very weird time. It’s not like high school, and it’s not like anything else, but it’s so much fun. I’m learning lots of very cool things and I’ve made lots of great friends, and I met the man I’m going to marry in college. Did you know that chimpanzees make nests in trees? I learned that in college.

What are you studying in college?
I’m studying theatre. I’ll get my degree in about two months, and then I’m going to teach people how to sword fight on the stage.

Do you stay at your college or do you live at home?
For the first two years, I lived on my college campus, but now I live with my boyfriend in an apartment near the school. We live with our cat, Adina, and she likes to chase pens and pencils, and she sleeps a lot. She’s the best cat I’ve ever known.

What is the worst school picture you have ever taken? Bonus points if you scan it and attach it!
The worst picture I ever took was in the sixth grade. I was wearing a really ugly green sweatshirt with a raccoon on it. Thankfully, the only copy that still exists is in my grandmother’s attic, so I can’t scan it, but thanks for asking!

What is the worst grade you have ever gotten in school?
The worst grade I’ve ever gotten was when I failed pre-algebra in seventh grade. Since I’ve been in college, the worst grade I’ve gotten was a C+ in chemistry. I hated chemistry. But the best part was when my teacher knocked over a bottle of liquid nitrogen and froze the carpet. And then he ignored it and kept teaching! Usually I manage As and Bs.

What is your favorite word? Why?
I like words that have an “ell” sound. Like mellow. Or yellow. I also like “lofty.” Here are some more good words: Octopus, shun, float, breathe, deluxe, shiny, louvre, and badminton. Right now, I’m also really liking conundrum and corroborate.

What words don’t you like? What words gross you out?
I hate the word “loaf.” It makes me sick. I also don’t like German words, because they sound hard and I can’t pronounce them.

What is your favorite joke?
A monkey is selling fruit at a fruit stand. A woman goes up to the monkey and says, “How much for this apple?” The monkey says, “Ooga booga.” The woman says, “You’re supposed to tell me it’s fifty cents.” The monkey says, “Fifty cents, fifty cents.” The woman buys the apple and walks away. A man walks up to the monkey and says, “Is this fruit fresh?” The monkey says, “Ooga booga.” The man says, “You’re supposed to tell me it’s fresh.” The monkey says, “Fresh, fresh, fresh indeed!” The man buys some fruit and walks away. Another man walks up to the monkey and says, “I don’t think I’ll buy any fruit.” The monkey says, “Ooga booga.” The man says, “You’re supposed to tell me that if I don’t buy it, someone else will.” The monkey says, “If you don’t someone else will!” A robber comes up to the fruit stand and says, “How much you got in your cash register?” The monkey says, “Fifty cents, fifty cents!” The robber says, “Are you being fresh with me?” The monkey says, “Fresh, fresh, fresh indeed!” The robber says, “I’m going to blow your head off!” The monkey says, “If you don’t, someone else will!”
I probably told that joke once a day from the time I was eight until the time I was 14.

What else makes you laugh?
My silly cat and my silly boyfriend. And my dad. My dad is hilarious.

What is your favorite type of music?
I like alternative rock. My favorite bands/singers are U2, The Decemberists, Coldplay, John Hiatt, Pete Yorn, and Frou Frou. I think you’d really like The Decemberists. They have songs about pirates and giant whales.

What is the worst thing you ever did as a kid?
Ummm…one time I attacked my big brother’s bedroom door with a baseball bat because I was angry at him. Fifteen years later, the dents are still there. Now I really like my brother. He’s pretty funny, too.

Responses

  1. I’m liking the expansion on the questions you are asking. You’re really branching out! Way to go, keep up the good work!

  2. I agree with Shelby! Great questions!

  3. She gets to teach people to sword fight on stage?
    That may be the coolest job ever!

  4. Great interview. And I liked what she said about college. I know that school is tough sometimes for you (and everyone) and if you don’t want to go to college you don’t have to. It’s good for a lot of people but not for everyone. Bill Gates didn’t go to college…well, he dropped out. Almost all of my favorite rock stars didn’t go to college.

    But don’t give up on college just yet!! And don’t let the thought of it scare you too much. You never know what the future has in store for you. And remember, almost all of the great airplane engineers (and a whole lot of pilots) have gone to college.

    Just my thoughts. I love the interviews!!! I still want to interview you and your mom on my podcast but time is short right now. I’ll be in touch, though…


Leave a Reply

Categories

