Posted by: Matthew | October 4, 2007

My Interview with Molly Carmer

This is my interview with Molly Carmer. She lives in the same city my school and my mom’s store were in when we lived in Colorado. I miss that school. Thanks for letting me interview you, Molly.

**************************************************

Where do you live? What is it like where you live?

I live in a house with my husband, our two cats, and our dog. It is the first house I’ve ever lived in that wasn’t my mom’s, and it’s the first piece of property I’ve ever owned. It is a very good feeling to know that I have a place of my own, and it’s a whole lot of fun to decorate it. My house is in a town called Longmont, in Colorado. It’s near Boulder, which is a cooler, more exciting, and more expensive town. I like that Longmont is quiet and cheap, but close enough to Boulder that I can do fun things easily, if I feel like it.

I used to go to school in Longmont. Have you always lived there?

I just moved to Longmont in February. Before that, I lived in Oklahoma. I have a lot of family in Boulder, and I’ve always wanted to move up here, so my husband found a job and here we are! How did you like Longmont?

What do you do? What is your job?

Right now I do work through a staffing agency that provides temporary employees for offices that just need a person to work for a little while. The job I currently have is doing data entry and proof reading. It’s not very interesting work, but I really enjoy the other people at the office, and that makes a big difference. Sometimes, if everyone in a place is nice to you and each other, it makes it easier to do work you wouldn’t normally like. In a year, I am going to go back to college and get my degree in psychology. After that, I’ll probably need to get an even bigger degree in psychology. Then, I hope I can get a job that has fun work AND nice people.

What is your favorite place to just go hang out and enjoy life?

Since I live in such a beautiful area, anywhere is a great place to relax and enjoy life. For me, though, the best place to be is around my family that lives nearby. We all really like each other and make each other laugh all the time. At least once a week, we’ll all get together and enjoy a meal, then sit around for hours and tell stories about when my mom and uncle were kids or teenagers. They grew up in a big family, so there are a lot of stories. Being around them makes me want to grow up to be as cool and funny as they are.

What do you like to do in your free time?

I am a pretty boring girl, Matthew. I tend to take up hobbies for a short time, then quit them pretty suddenly and move on to something else. It’s not a very healthy habit, but I’m trying to get better about it. I’ve recently tried my hand at painting, and I’m enjoying it quite a bit. Last night I painted a bird feeder in orange, black and white, and I’m going to fill it with candy and make it a people feeder. Who knows what I’ll be interested in next week?

Do you like to travel? What is your favorite place to travel to?

I love to travel! I have not been that many places, but I have really enjoyed every trip I’ve taken. In 1998, I got to spend my 18th birthday in Red Square in Russia. It was really exciting to stand in front of St. Basil’s Cathedral and think, “It looks just like the pictures!” I saw places where important historical events took place, and I got to imagine those famous people standing in the same place where I was standing. It was such a neat feeling! My other favorite place to travel is Oklahoma. I was always bored when I lived there, but now that I’m in Longmont, I miss it because it’s where a lot of my good friends are. Any place where I have friends is a good place to visit.

What is the most disturbing thing you have ever seen?

There was a man in Oklahoma who fell off of a bridge and into the middle of a busy highway during rush hour. I was on that highway on my way home from work, and they had most of the street blocked off and there were police cars and officers everywhere. By the time I got there, you couldn’t see anything gross, and I’m very thankful for that. What I did see was the yellow blanket they covered him with, and that was enough to bother me for a long time. It was weird to see something and know that only moments ago, the thing under that blanket was a person.

What is the worst thing you ever did as a kid?

I was a pretty tame kid and didn’t really do anything horrible, but I can tell you what I felt the worst about. When I was about 8, my friend taught me how to do this prank where you stick your finger in the paper towel dispenser and then pump a lot of paper out, but since your finger’s there, it just gets stuck in the dispenser. Then, when the next person comes to pump out a piece of towel, all of the paper you had stuffed up there comes flying out and it’s a big mess. Well, I thought it was pretty clever, so I went to the restroom at Shoney’s, a restaurant we used to frequent, and started doing the prank. Right before I was done, one of the waitresses walked in and I was startled and looked at her in horror, which let her know I was up to no good. She yelled at me in the bathroom and told me that I was wasting paper, and asked how I would feel if someone had done that trick to me. I am sure she wasn’t really that mean about it, but since I never got in much trouble, I felt horrible and got really scared. It made me cry. I went back to our table, crying, and didn’t finish my lunch. I never went back to Shoney’s again because there was someone there that knew I did something bad.

What is the funniest word you have ever heard?

Bip. I’m not sure if that’s a word or not. My spell checker seems to think it’s not. But when I was a kid, that’s the word my sister and I used instead of the real cuss words. We’d get really mad at each other and say “Bip on you!” and that was that. It’s funny to me now because I realize it’s such a silly thing to say. It was so mean and hurtful back then, but if you take some time and just say it over and over, it stops having any meaning and starts just sounding funny. There are a lot of words like that, even the real mean words that adults use to hurt each other can sound silly if you think about them enough, and when they finally seem silly, they don’t hurt as much.

If you are a vegetarian, please don’t answer this…otherwise…what is your favorite type of meat?

Right now, I really like tilapia and halibut. Those are both types of fish that are light in color and in taste. Fish is very good for you, and goes with a lot of different types of seasoning. Sometimes, though, all I want is a cheeseburger, especially when I’m in Oklahoma. There are two really good burger places there, Johnnie’s and Big Ed’s. Johnnie’s makes really great hickory sauce and uses high-quality beef. Big Ed’s makes the greasy spoon style burger better than anyone else. If anyone is in Oklahoma City, these are my recommendations.

Responses

  1. OH MY GOSH! Another Oklahoma Girl! AND? I have pictures of that guy that “fell” off the bridge!! I was there! Also, Molly is correct. Johnnie’s rules.

  2. Hi Matthew
    I just found your blog. Great interview questions.

  3. I taught school for thirty-nine years and I don’t think I ever had a student who did such a good job of preparing himself for a career in journalism as you do with these interviews. Quite an achievement. You need to be proud of yourself. The words comprehensive, careful, and competent come to mind.

  4. I was in Oklahoma until today and didn’t get to read this until just now! Thank you so much for interviewing me!

  5. As I read this I thought, “Huh…tilapia might be one of the funniest words I’ve ever heard.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

