Posted by: Matthew | June 26, 2007

My Interview With Kelly From Diary of the Nello

This is my interview with Kelly from Diary of the Nello. She is pretty cool. She can fix your blog and make it look awesome pawsome. Thanks for letting me interview you, Kelly.

****************************************************

Where do you live?
I live in Northern California. I know that’s pretty vague of me to say… but since I blog about my kids and use their real names, I try to keep some things under wraps!

What is it like where you live?
Around here it is cold and rainy throughout fall and winter, in the spring it is really nice, and then the summer gets freaking desert hot. I don’t like the hot part. But that only lasts three months out of the year, so I try and deal with it. I live in a neighborhood that was built in the 1960’s. What that means is that it is filled to the brim with wise (read: old) people and there are practically no kids around. I LOVE that it is quiet around here. But I hate it that my kids are the ones that end up making all the noise.

My mom told me something was wrong with your foot. What is wrong?
I broke my foot about a year ago and have since been diagnosed with a painful nerve disorder called Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy. My life has literally been turned upside down, all because I went and broke my stupid foot. I don’t even have a cool story as to how I did it. I just fell down on my front porch one morning. See? Boring. But I’ll tell you what. My life has been anything BUT boring since I’ve been diagnosed. I have been through fourteen painful procedures and countless physical therapy sessions all in hopes of being cured. So far I have seen minor improvements but not enough for me to consider myself in remission. I can walk normally and wear a shoe on my foot most of the time now, but for about six months of this nightmare I either wasn’t able to walk at all or I walked in an air cast with a pretty severe limp. As you can probably guess, that doesn’t go over very well when you watch two kids under the age of five all day long. I still struggle almost every day with the pain and I have also gained a disabled placard for my car. The placard has been the best thing about this whole ordeal. To me, especially now, close parking is like an ice cream cone from Baskin Robins. Love it.

theproblem.jpg

What is it like being a mom?
Being a Mom is hard. I love it and it is definitely the most fulfilling thing that I’ve ever done, but it is also the hardest thing that I’ve ever done. I know a lot of Mom’s say that, but it is true. And I guess one can only believe it if they’ve lived it. I am a Mom to two kids. My son is four and a half and my daughter is almost three. There are a lot of days when I have the best time with my kids and then there are other days where I just want a vacation. It turns out that cleaning up after two tornadoes while also trying to feed them, keep them entertained and keep them clean for ten or more hours a day is not all that easy. I know my kids are still really little to always remember to say “thank you”, but if they just hug me once in a day without me having to make them, it makes it all so very worth it. I am so happy that I have kids that do that. Even at their young ages, they seem to know when I need a hug and they have no problem paying up!

You designed my mom’s old Elvis blog. Is it hard to design blogs?
I wouldn’t say it is hard to design blogs, you just have to have a lot of patience and you have to want to know how to do it. Oh… and you also have to have the time to do it. Having the time to do it, is probably the hardest part about it.

I know that you grow hydrangeas. Are they your favorite flower?
No, they aren’t my favorite flower. But that is because I don’t have a favorite flower. I am a garden geek who happens to love all flowers. I have to say, though, that my hydrangeas kick butt. I have eight of them and they all have responded really well to me this year. You should see all the flowers that are booming out of them. Like I said… I’m a little bit of a garden geek. So maybe it’s a good idea for me not to start blabbing on and on about my plants.

a_few_weeks_ago.jpg

Your son has Sensory Processing Disorder. (I know a lot about that) Can you tell me what it is like for your son?
Sensory Processing Disorder makes every day a challenge for my son. But he wouldn’t know the difference between what a “normal” person experiences versus what he experiences because he has had SPD, officially, since he was about twenty-two months old. I personally noticed a change in him when he was just twelve months old. His biggest challenge is with sounds. He can’t tune out background noise and he seems to hear all sound at about 5 or more times what “normal” people hear them. (You can imagine then, what big crowds of people do to him… or just one crying child.) For this reason, my son is about one year delayed in speech. His speech delay affects his self esteem and also affects the way he interacts with other kids. For the most part, my son doesn’t play with kids he doesn’t know really well because (we think) he can’t communicate really well with them and he also is afraid of their unpredictable actions. Another thing that is very hard for him is eating. My son has a very limited diet because he has a hard time with certain textures and smells. My poor son has suffered with eating since he was born. I’m sure there are some who would think that I am exaggerating about that, but unfortunately, I’m not. My son goes to a speech therapy preschool four times a week and he goes to occupational therapy twice a week. At the peak of all of this he was going to seven different appointments per week. And he was only two years old. I know that my son will lead a fairly normal life as he gets older though. We caught his problems very early in his life and we have been able to make a lot of progress while his brain is still growing and developing. We are hoping that by the time he is in second or third grade, that no one will ever know that there was anything “wrong” with him. Of course, he will always struggle with noise and eating… but the goal is for those problems not to shut down his life.

If you could be any animal, which animal would you choose? Why?
I would probably choose to be a tiger shark. Not because I want to hurt all of the surfers in the world… because, believe me, I don’t. I would want to be a tiger shark because how cool would it be to glide around in warm water all of your life? I think it would be awesome. And the way that the tiger shark swims? So graceful. And FAST! Yes. The tiger shark is definitely what I would choose to be.

What happens to you when you eat sugar? A lot of sugar?
Well, it just so happens that I often eat a lot of sugar. So, without hesitation, I can tell you that right away I get a big burst of energy. But after about thirty minutes I get very, very tired. And if I truly overdid it on the sugar, I get a big headache. You would think that since these headaches tend to hurt really bad that I would learn that I shouldn’t eat so much sugar, wouldn’t you? Yeah. You would think.

What type of clock do you like better? Analog or digital?
I prefer analog clocks, for sure. Digital clocks remind me too much of high school and how my alarm clock never could wake me up on time. Even though it was totally my fault that I was tardy at least twice a week for my entire high school career, I like to think that my digital clock had it out for me… Just a little bit.

What do you think about when you are going to sleep at night?
I usually think about how I can’t sleep and that everyone else seems to be able to. As far back as I can remember, that is the one thing that I consistently think about when I am going to sleep at night. I remember thinking about that even when I was about five years old. I would look at my sister who was sound asleep and wonder how she did that. Isn’t that sad? And I am still like that. I look at my husband, with pure jealousy, and wonder how he can fall asleep within two minutes of getting into bed. And then I think about how it’s just not fair. I should be able to sleep like that.

If you were a car, what type of car would you be? Any vehicle, actually?
I would be a fast car. A really, really fast, red sports car. Specifically, I would be a Ferrari 599 GTB Fiorano.

2006ferrari599gtb_1.jpg

Responses

  1. Thanks so much for interviewing me. I think you are one amazing kid and I cannot wait to see your book! I know it will be great and I have a feeling that MANY people will think so too.

  2. What a great interview! Nice work. This was fun to read.

  3. that was a great interview, i love kelly’s site! i’m actually pretty sure i found out about your site through hers! awesome.

  4. As always, I love your questions! You bring out the specialness of each person! Kelly, you’re so lucky to live in Northern Cali! My little brother lives in Arcata, and its BEAUTIFUL!!!!

  5. Very good interview!
    How do you always come up with the questions?

    Favourite questions in this interview:

    “What do you think about when you are going to sleep at night?”

  6. my interview is on the way with a special surprise! (your mom knows, so you’ll have to bug her about it)
    [big wink]

    ~CMB~
    aka Kelly

  7. Nice interview with Nello! I have an art blog and am a former newspaper reporter. …. 🙂 Peace, Amy


Leave a Reply

Categories

