Posted by: Matthew | June 17, 2007

My Interview With Abby

This is my interview with Abby. Abby has a blog called Mennogirl. She has a cool picture of her cat on it. Abby also has another blog she will be writing while she travels this summer called Traveling Girl. Abby answered her questions for me the day she was leaving for her two month trip – my mom says that makes her a very sweet and thoughtful person. Thank you for letting me interview you Abby! Have a fun trip!

Where do you live?
I live in the town of Evanston which is just north of the city of
Chicago.

What is it like where you live?

Well I live with 3 of my best friends from college in a little
apartment. It is a very nice apartment because we painted it lots of
colors (red, yellow, blue and green), however it is also very small
for 4 women. But we live only a few blocks away from the lake and the
El stop, so there are always lots of fun things to do. Right now we
are having some of the best weather ever, it has been warm, breezy and
sunny this whole week, but I know that in around 6 months it will be
very cold, cloudy and snowy again.

What is it like being Mennonite? Can you tell me more about it?

I have been Mennonite my whole life and growing up most of my friends
and almost all of my family were also Mennonites, so sometimes I find
it hard to describe something that seems so normal to me. There are
many different kinds of Mennonites, there are some Mennonites who
dress similarly to Amish people and drive only black cars and wear
head coverings (my grandparents were like this). There are some
Mennonites who live in Asia and Africa and don’t wear any kind of
different clothing. And there are also Mennonites who (like myself)
look just like other people and don’t live on farms. But I think the
very important things for Mennonites are believing in pacifism (which
means trying really hard to never be violent and using other ways of
settling disagreements), keeping the church separate from the
government, and being good caretakers of the earth. I really like
being a Mennonite.

Do you like to travel? What is your favorite place to travel to?

I love to travel! Actually I leave today on a really big trip.
Because I don’t have to work during the summer, I am traveling to
three countries, England, South Africa and Egypt. So I will be gone
for almost 2 months. I am pretty excited about this, but it will be
interesting to see so many new things in so short a time. Other
places that I like to travel to include a place called Boundary
Waters, which is in Northern Minnesota. It is a big area full of
lakes and woods and you can go canoeing for days and only see a few
people and it is very quiet there. Plus if you are lucky you can see
the bright stars at night and sometimes hear loon calls.

I know you have a cat. What is the hardest thing about having a
cat? What is the best thing?

I think the hardest thing about having a cat is all the shedding,
especially because when our cat is shedding she likes to be petted
more, so often times I end up with cat hair all over my clothes. But
I think the best thing about having the cat is how funny she is. She
likes to chase things that don’t exist and sometimes she isn’t very
graceful, so she falls off of chairs and sofas.

What is the most embarrassing thing that has ever happened to
you?

I can’t think of one specific thing that has embarrassed me recently.
But I always get embarrassed when I see someone waving at me from a
distance and wave back, only to realize that they weren’t waving to me
at all.

What was the worst thing you ever did as a kid?

I am sure my parents can think of lots of things that I have
forgotten, but I think the worst things I did were probably to my
older brother. When we were younger, we fought all the time and
didn’t like each other very much, but now that we are older we have
become good friends.

What is the worst thing you’ve ever done as an adult?
I think the worst thing that I do is sometimes I am mean to people
that I love. I like to make jokes and make people laugh, but
sometimes I say something too mean and then really regret it because I
hurt people that way.

What is your favorite type of writing? What do you read?

I love books, all kinds, but recently I have been reading young adult
fiction. I like these books because they are quick reads and often
very exciting because they try to get young people’s attention very
quickly and keep it. I also love international novels and anything
that has a good story.

What is your favorite word? Why?

I like words that are fun to say such as tapioca, marbleize, and
sundial.

If you are a vegetarian, please don’t answer
this…otherwise…what
is your favorite type of meat?

Oh I think my favorite types of meat are all the breakfast meats like
sausage and bacon, but I try not to eat them too often because they
can be fattening.

What is your favorite place just to go and enjoy life?
I like to go to coffee shops and just watch people, I also love to go
down to the lake and watch the waves and seagulls. Those are my
favorite places to relax.

Responses

  1. Abby, you live in Evanston? I was BORN in Evanston and I so badly want to go back! (I live in Palatine now but am trying to move closer to the city for school) My niece’s name is Abby too and she spells it that way.
    Matt… another SUPER interview! I liked learning about Mennonite! I learned a lot of things I never knew before! You are da bomb, buddy.

  2. Hello Matthew 🙂

    My name’s Stephanie and I am one of Abby’s housemates. Abby told me about your blog a few months ago and I’ve enjoyed reading it ever since. I really liked your interview with Abby. It was interesting to read her answers because I know her so well. There were alot of different answers she could have given to some of the questions, so I found it fascinating which things she chose to talk about. For example, in the question about travel she talked about Boundary Waters which surprised me because she’s also traveled to Colombia, Africa, and China.

    You probably have a long list of interviewees, but I would be honored to be one of them. I look forward to reading more of your interviews.

  3. Wow. Mennonites sound like really cool people (what’s not to like about being gentle and caring for the earth?).

    Thanks for introducing me to yet another warm and interesting person.

  4. Hi, Matthew.
    I read your first interview with Sara and I’m always back to see who’s next. I especially liked this interview because I’m Mennonite, too! Abby did a good job of summing that up.

    Good questions, as always, and if you want to interview another Mennonite (or a copywriter, or someone who lives in PA), I’d be happy to be on your list.

  5. P.S. I meant to write “Sarah”! (and now I see she was your second interview)

  6. Thanks again for the great questions Mathew, I really enjoyed our interview.
    Angel, that’s cool that you know Evanston, it really is a great little town!
    Oh and Melanie, it is always great to hear about another Mennonite on the Internet.


Leave a Reply

Categories

