Posted by: Matthew | June 11, 2007

My Interview with Joanne

This is my interview with Joanne. We actually did this a long time ago, but the email got lost somewhere. You can see her blog here. Thanks for letting me interview you, Joanne.

***************************************************************************************************

Where do you live?
I live in a two story house in downtown Indianapolis, Indiana.

What is it like where you live?
It’s urban, and my street is super noisy. There is an entrance to the highway down the block, so we get lots of truck noise. We live only a few blocks from our church (and where our son will go to school someday) and a playground, so that’s nice.

How many kids do you have?
We have only one, his name is Anthony Joseph but we just call him Anthony. He’ll be two years old in June. He is crazy! My husband and I would like to have more kids, we’ll see.

What is your favorite thing about being a mom?
I guess my favorite thing about being a mom is that no matter what else I do in life, I have done this – I’ve given birth to another person and am doing my best to raise him up to be a good boy, and a good man (eventually!). I am trying harder at this job than I have ever tried at anything in my life. It is a hard job, and I haven’t taken to it as naturally as I thought I would, but we are getting there. I love him more than anyone I have ever known in my life and it’s amazing to feel that kind of love toward someone else. I love being part of my own little family – I mean I loved being part of a marriage with my husband but it feels much different and more full, for me, now that we have Anthony.

What was the worst thing you ever did as a kid?
Hmmm. The worst thing I ever did as a kid. When I was about 12 or 13 years old, we used to live behind a church so our backyard backed up into a large parking lot. We had a Buick of ours that was always being worked on sitting back there, and also this priest that we knew left a station wagon of his that had to be worked on back there. After school we used to go out into our car and put it in neutral and just let it roll into the parking lot and pretend we were driving, then we’d push the car back into place. This one day, I pretended to be driving and I guess I moved the steering wheel too much because when we went to push the Buick back, it didn’t go back where it belonged, it was up against the priest’s station wagon. So then we (my brothers, sister, and my neighbor) and I decided that we would just start the Buick and move it. None of us had drivers licenses or knew had to drive, but I felt like I had all this practice! It didn’t go well, I drove the Buick into the station wagon. My mother is STILL kind of mad about it and it was like 25 years ago!

What makes you laugh?
In my life, my husband, my son and my sister make me laugh. But I also love to watch The Office.

If you could be any kind of car, what kind of car would you be?
If I could be any kind of car I would be a Honda Civic because they are good for a really long time and a lot of miles, and everybody likes them, and you can really count on them.

What is the most embarrassing thing that has ever happened to you?
Oh Lord. I am embarrassed a lot, it seems. But here’s one example that stands out. Several years ago, I worked in a bar in Hoboken NJ, as a bartender. So this one night I was working and I took the keys so that I could use the employee bathroom downstairs. There was only one set of keys, so I couldn’t believe it when I was sitting there on the toilet, peeing, and I saw the doorknob moving (I am actually kind of blushing just typing about this) and it was my friend Matt who I worked with, who had some extra, secret, set of keys and he saw me sitting on the toilet! AND I was wearing overalls so they were all down around my legs and everything. I remember I told my Mom the next day and she said “nobody ever died from being embarrassed” and I didn’t quite believe her but it ended up fine.

What is your favorite animal? Why?
My favorite animal is my cat, Roxanne. I had her from when I was like 13 til I was 27. She was a perfect animal, she always used the litter box, she slept at my feet, and she’d purr and it sounded like heaven. As a rule, I am not big on animals but I loved her.

What do you like to do in your free time?
I like to go out – to the movies, or to a baseball game (we have a AAA team just down the street from us, the Indianapolis Indians). I like to go to new restaurants and to bars and play trivia, or darts, or just chat. I don’t ‘like’ to go to the gym, but I like the way it makes me feel. I also like to nap in my free time, as I am really tired all the time and have been since my son was born. I am a big reader, I read every night before I go to sleep. I tend to re-read books that I like a lot. I have read Gone With the Wind about a billion times.

Responses

  1. I’m glad you’re back, Matt!

  2. I like the question about the worst thing she did as a kid. I bet you get some good stories if you keep asking that one!

  3. Hi Matthew,

    my favourite question in this interview is “What was the worst thing you ever did as a kid?”.

    I also read the interview to my Boyfriend and he has been thinking about “If you could be any kind of car, what kind of car would you be?” for hours now! ;o)
    He just can’t figure it out…


Leave a Reply

Categories

