Posted by: Matthew | May 22, 2007

My Interview with LeahPeah

This is my interview with Leah. You may know her from her blog. Maybe she has even interviewed you. She does lots of interviews too. Thank you for answering my questions, Leah.

************************************************************************************************************

Where do you live?

I live in the smallest house ever built. Just kidding. The truth is that we just moved from a normal-sized house to a house that is half as big. So, to me it feels like I should have shrunk to little-people size in order to live here. But you know what ‘they’ say – location, location, location. The long answer is: Moorpark, Ventura County, California, Contiguous United States, North America, Western Hemisphere, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way Galaxy, Virgo Supercluster. (Let me know if I missed anything.)

What is it like where you live?

The best part of living where I live now is that my four kids only have a few blocks to go between my home and their dad’s home. That’s way better than the miles they had to go for the last few years. The worst part is that the people that lived here before us left some weird things behind. I’ll show you a picture sometime.

I see you just got a new cockatiel. What is it like having a cockatiel?

Cockatiels are actually in the baby parrot group of birds so they learn to talk, whistle songs, do tricks and live to be 15 to 20 years old. The one I just got for Mother’s Day  is very sweet and friendly. The man that took care of him after he was born fed him with his hands so he would be tame and not bite. I still haven’t named mine. Do you know of any good bird names?

Do you have any other pets?

Remember the picture I was going to show you? Here it is. It’s of the only other pets I have and I only have them because of the previous owners of this house. We found them in the lawn, which was really just knee-high weeds, so I didn’t know they were there until my son mowed.

 

Leah’s Pet Doggies

 

 

It makes me sad that the little guy there has lost his toes. I do not think they were happy to be trapped in such tall grass-weeds but you think they would smile and be happy now that we found them.

Do you like cats?

Boy, do I ever. But I really only like them when they are kind of like dogs and like to sit in your lap and let you pet them and rough-house with them. Like the cat I used to have, Basilone.

And since my oldest son is allergic to cats, it’s hard to have one around at the same time my son is around. And since I like it when my son is around…we’ll, you can probably see where this is going. Bas went on a very long vacation to Virginia where he lives with my husband’s parents and gets to chase mice and run up and down the stairs all night and day. Kind of like cat heaven.

You take pictures. You even have some published. What do you like about photography?

Taking photos is one of my favorite things to do. I shoot with mostly digital but I still like to play with older toy cameras like a Brownie, which uses film. Toy cameras are fun because they don’t take a perfect picture like a digital camera does. You can see some examples of toy camera images here. I think I love photography so much because even when you make mistakes taking the image, it can still turn out beautiful or interesting. It’s like an entire story that fits into one frame. My all-time favorite photos that I’ve taken are on this page. My son Tony and I are going to make one of these cameras in a few weeks.

What made you start doing all of those interviews?

I’m nosy. Basically, I think that’s it. I will go someplace, let’s say the Laundromat, and look around and see someone minding their own business but because they look interesting to me, I just can’t help but go up and say, ‘Hi there! How are you? I love your shirt! Where are you from? Do you like wearing your hair that way? What do you do for a living? Do you have family near by? What are your parents like? Are you planning on having more children?’ And for some reason, people ANSWER ME. I know. It’s weird because I have to tell you that I don’t like it when random people come up and start talking to me. And I don’t answer them. In fact, a lady followed me into the bathroom once and wanted to talk to me about something I had just said in a talk to a group of people and I asked her to leave. So, I’m basically doing the opposite of the Golden Rule.

However, I don’t mind people emailing me with questions, which is why I started interviewing bloggers by emailing them. It makes it easy for them to say no if they want. But I always hoped they would say yes since I find something fascinating about everyone.

What is your favorite question to ask?

The one that catches them by surprise. It’s different with everyone but if you do enough research about the person before you interview them, you can figure out a few that they won’t be expecting or that no one has asked them before.

You have a book too. What is it like being an author?

Since I think that bloggers are ‘real’ writers and they ‘real’ authors, I could ask you the same question. It was a good feeling to finish my first book. Sadly, it was short lived because it immediately went into revisions, which I am about half way through now. I’m also working on two other books. All at the same time.

You do a lot of stuff. What do you like to do in your free time?

I hang out with my kids. My life with my kids is a little different because I was away from them for a few months when I went to a hospital for my brain. I had to go all the way to Seattle, Washington and when I moved back to San Diego, they had already moved to Moorpark with their dad. So then I tried to move closer to them but it took me quite a few months to get moved into the area. And by that time, we had spent so much time apart that I wanted to be with them as much as possible. So my favorite thing to do is hang out with them. We play Guitar Hero and Karaoke Revolutions together. (Don’t tell them I told you this, but I’m way better at those games than they are.) (Just Kidding) We also love to play cards and board games. Besides that, I paint, shoot photos, write and craft.

What is your favorite color? Why?

I’ve loved just about every color at one time or another. I tend to wear a lot of red, black and white. But I’m drawn to artwork that has yellow and orange in it. But because I’m an artist, it’s hard to pick just one.

What is your favorite type of computer? PC or Mac? Why?

My husband and I do freelance web development projects so we have 7 computers in our home. Two are Macs and five are PCs, including my laptop. I think PCs are easier to do a lot of things on but Macs are more stable.

Responses

  1. Your site has had a bit of a makeover. Looks good. It was good to read a LeahPeah interview. I read hers over on her website. As usual you’re doing a fabbo job with the interviews. Keep it up.

    I must put a button up on my site to say I’ve been interviewed.

  2. Your blog is great, Matthew. I enjoy reading the interviews and finding new bloggers to read.

  3. […] for a school project. He’s a pretty cool kid with a pretty cool mom, who home schools him. Thanks for interviewing me, […]

  4. Great interview! It’s fun to interview an interviewer! I also like your new site makeover. It’s very sophisticated!

  5. I am getting excited for my turn to be interviewed! All your interviews are so great, you ask a lot of really interesting questions. Keep it up!

  6. Keep up the good work, this is going great

    xc

  7. […] My Interview with LeahPeah « In the Air (tags: interview leahpeah) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

