Posted by: Matthew | May 19, 2007

My Interview with Sean Meade

This is my interview with Sean Meade. He has a blog called interact. Thank you for letting me interview you, Sean!

************************************************************************************************************

Where do you live?

Columbia, SC

What is it like where you live?

It’s too hot for five or six months out of the year. The rest of the time the weather is ok. I’m from Iowa originally and the South is too hot for me.

There’s a lot of pollen in SC, and all four member of my family are allergic to it.

What can I say that’s nice about SC? The cost of living is very low (though that may not appeal to you).


Do you have kids? How old are they? Can you tell me about your family?

I have twins that are almost eight, Elizabeth and Wil. They are lots of fun. Wil is drawing a picture of Luigi (Mario’s brother) right this minute. Elizabeth has a ballet recital this week. They start swim team today. More about the twins at http://twinlog.blogspot.com.

What do you do?

I am the web editor for Aviation Week’s Defense content [ http://aviationweek.com/aw/defense ]. Our weblog is growing [http://aviationweek.typepad.com/ares]. We averaged 1000 hits per day last week, which we are very excited about. In some ways, you could call me a professional weblogger, which I really enjoy.

What happens to you when you eat sugar? A lot of sugar?

As I eat sugar, I get fatter (over time, of course). The more sugar I eat, the fatter I get. I lost 15 pounds last year, but gained it all back 😦 Yesterday I started again, though this time the plan is to make permanent changes that will result in permanent weight loss and better health.

What do you do in your free time?

Right now, I don’t have a lot of free time. When I do, I usually end up doing more of what I do when I’m working: surfing the Internet. In addition, I like to read. I subscribe to Wired and Sports Illustrated. I just finished reading The Children of Hurin by JRR Tolkien and am currently re-reading I, Robot by Isaac Asimov.

Connections: Asimov’s birthday (and mine) is January 2nd. Tolkien’s is January 3rd. Asimov’s Foundation was, at onepoint, named the greatest science fiction series of all time. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings was second.

What is your favorite type of mammal…BESIDES people?

I have always liked beavers. They change their environment more than any other animal (not including people). That’s interesting to me. So are their lodges.

What is your favorite type of writing? What do you read?

My favorite kind of writing is fantasy, followed closely by science fiction. My favorite author of all time is JRR Tolkien.

What is your favorite color? Why?

Green, but I’m not really sure why. I didn’t used to like it all and thought it was totally boring.

You also have a blog. How long have you been doing a blog?

I have been writing my weblog, interact [http://seanmeade.blogspot.com ] for going on 7 years now.


What made you start your blog?

I started my weblog because I loved other weblogs so much! One of the first weblogs I ever read was kottke.org. Shortly after that, I started reading MetaFilter [ http://metafilter.com] and then joined. MetaFilter now has more than 53,000 users. I was user number 252 [http://www.metafilter.com/user/252 ]. Another early weblog I read (some say it was the first weblog) was Robot Wisdom [http://www.robotwisdom.com/].

There aren’t too many things in my life that I’ve done for almost 7 years and enjoyed. In that respect, I’m proud of my weblog as something I’ve stuck with.

What is your favorite type of clock? Analog or digital?

Digital. Quick to read, plus they usually come with functions I want like a countdown timer. My favorite clock is BigClock for the Palm Pilot/Treo. It’s nice and easy to use with plenty of good functions.

Responses

  1. Another great interview. Nice work! I stumbled upon your blog the other day and I have thoroughly enjoyed reading everything. Keep up the good work, I look forward to my interview!

  2. You ask such great questions. I love reading your interviews.

  3. You are so smart because you know the difference between analog and digital clocks! I am 27 and I just learned the difference a few months ago… in my computer class! I knew what digital clocks were, but I called the other ones “clocks with regular numbers!”

  4. lol, I love that you sepecified “which mammal, besides humans”…. too funny.

  5. http://pressposts.com/Photography/My-Interview-with-Sean-Meade/

    Submited post on PressPosts.com – “My Interview with Sean Meade”

  6. Great interview!


Leave a Reply

Categories

