Posted by: Matthew | May 17, 2007

My Interview with Stephanie

This is my interview with Stephanie. She was one of the first people to volunteer and comments on my blog all of the time. She has a blog too. Domo arigato, Stephanie!

************************************************************************************************************

Where do you live?

Right now I live in Phoenix, Arizona.

 

What is it like where you live?

Aside from Baltimore in August, it the hottest place I have EVER been. They say “it’s a dry heat”, but it doesn’t matter, it’s HOT! Also, it’s a very interesting town in its diversity. The part of town I live in has a very large population of Hispanic citizens. I like it very much. They are very kind and family oriented.

Have you even seen a tornado?

I have! In fact, when I was growing up we used to sit on our porch and watch tornadoes form in the cow pastures across our street. Most of those never actually touched the ground, but it is a scary / exciting thing to see. Also, the May 3, 1999 tornado took the house where I grew up. Not only did it knock it down, but it mostly just picked everything up and deposited it on another street somewhere. The only thing left was the cement slab. Later someone came along and put a little post in the ground to mark the address of what used to be there.

Do you have any pets?

Currently I am living pet-free. I mostly am pet-free due to my schedule, which takes me away from home a lot. I don’t think it’s fair to pets to have to entertain themselves while I am out doing other things.

What is your favorite animal? Why?

If I had to pick a favorite animal I would say it would be dogs. Puppies are cute and loyal, and they love you just as you are.

What is your current job?

I work for a Landscape Design firm, doing Operations stuff.

If you could have any job, what would it be?

My dream job would to be the official scorekeeper for a major league baseball team. It’s a strange thing for a girl to want to be. The thing is, I have really no desire to be a sports writer, and you mostly can’t get the job I want without being that person first.

What is the most embarrassing thing that has ever happened to you?

I can’t really name one thing, but two things that happen to me WAY MORE than normal that suck the life right out of me are that I leave the lights on in my car and run down the battery and also I lock my keys in my car way more than the average person.

What is your favorite thing about being a mom?

My daughter is my favorite person on the planet. The best part about it is when OTHER kid’s parents tell me what a joy my daughter is. I take a lot of pride in the respect she earns by treating other people the way she should.

What is your favorite place to go and just enjoy life?

My favorite place on the planet is New York City. It’s a hustle and bustle lifestyle, always something to do. To go and just relax there’s no place like home. Oklahoma is the best place on earth.

Responses

  1. Great interview!

    I like the embarrassing thing question the best. The answers reveal not so much what silly thing a person does, but how they feel when they get caught doing that thing.

  2. That was a cool tornado story. Kinda scary, but cool.

  3. Another great interview, Matthew!

    I was in the May 3, 1999 tornado, too! My highschool’s prom was the next day, and I was getting my hair done (trial run) by a friend at the dorms at SNU in Bethany, OK. When the tornado alarms went off and we had to leave everything to go down to the basement/shelter, my hair was half down and half up in curlers! I remember it well! I’m so glad that Stephanie and her family were all just fine, even though their house wasn’t. What a wild thing to experience!

  4. Stephanie is the nicest person I’ve never met. She made a coffee mug with my face on it and sent it to my mom for Mother’s Day with a nice letter!

  5. the interviews are going great, matthew. you should interview rob cockerham, who’s up there a few people back in the comments. i don’t know him, but anytime i’m depressed i know his website will cheer me up.

  6. I have read them all – they are great fun – keep it up!

    CMB

  7. […] interviewing all these interesting people as a homeschool project. He took a break from that, and interviewed me […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

