Posted by: Matthew | November 15, 2007

My Interview with Rosa from ZOMG, Candy!

This is my interview with Rosa. She has a blog where she reviews candy. I think maybe I should change this blog to a candy review blog! Thanks for letting me interview you, Rosa.

*******************************************************************

Where do you live? What is it like where you live?

Right now I live in a dorm room in Calhoun College in New Haven, Connecticut. I think my residential college is gorgeous. Our dining hall has stained glass windows, and the gates to my college lie under stone archways. You can see for yourself here: http://alumni.yale.edu/classes/yc1959/classprojects/calhouncollege.html

We used to have a big tree and a tire swing in the middle of the courtyard, but the tree was too sick, so they had to uproot it and take it away. My friends and I miss it.

I like the city of New Haven too, though it is a different, much more urban environment than my home in Austin, Texas. I love that there are several great restaurants within walking distance of campus. Since I’ve been here, I’ve gotten to try foods from countries all over the world, including Ethiopia, Greece, Japan, Spain, Thailand, and India.

I know that you review candy. What is it like reviewing candy?

Reviewing candy is awesome! I have an excuse to eat and buy lots of candy. Whenever I go to a grocery store or convenience store, I always slowly browse the candy aisles looking for new things that I want to try. My friends have started giving me candy as gifts, and I sometimes get free candy from companies that want me to write about their sweets on my website.

What is your favorite type of candy?

I’m a terribly indecisive person, so I can’t pick just one favorite. I really like Take 5s, 100 Grands, and SweeTarts, and since I’ve started reviewing candy, I’ve discovered the deliciousness of dark chocolate-covered honeycomb. I can easily tell you my least favorite candy: licorice. I can’t stand the stuff. Blech.

Do you ever get sick from reviewing candy all day?

I don’t actually review candy all day – that would be bad for my health and my teeth – but I do eat a lot of candy. There have been days when I eat too much chocolate and feel gross for a while, but usually I’m pretty good about eating candy in moderation. In fact, I rarely finish the candy that I review. I eat enough to get a taste and share the rest with my friends. I also try to eat healthy meals (lots of raw fruits and vegetables) and get enough exercise, so I think I’m healthy enough.

Do you ever review cookies…or just candy?

I’ve reviewed cookies once before: http://zomgcandy.com/2007/08/04/swedish-cookies-from-ikea/ , but that was when I was first starting up my candy blog. Now I’m better about focusing on just candy. That doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy eating and baking cookies though! Ginger snaps are my favorite.

What is your favorite food that is not candy?

That’s a tough one because I love all kinds of food. When I’m not eating candy, I eat lots of fruit, so I think I’ll let fruit be my answer. Or rather, fruit salad, so I don’t have to choose a specific fruit. I also have never been able to refuse a good slice of cheesecake, especially if it’s pumpkin cheesecake. Mmm…

I know that you are a college student. What is like being in college?

Being in college is great, and I know I’ll look back on my time as a college student as one of the best times of my life. I’m at this nice point in life where I’m not yet an adult with tons and tons of responsibilities, but I’m old enough to take care of myself and live without my parents telling me what to do all the time. Still, college requires a lot of hard work, and it’s sometimes hard to balance having fun with learning and getting good grades.

What are you studying?

I’m a psychology major with a focus in neuroscience. Psychology is an extremely broad field. I’ve taken classes in biology, philosophy, music, medicine, economics, computer programming, and anthropology that have all counted towards my major, which I think is pretty cool.

I know that you also work with disabled kids. What is that like?

Working with kids with disabilities has been one of the greatest experiences of my life, and it’s something I’d like to make a career out of. Sometimes it’s frustrating, and it’s not always glamorous, but I find it incredibly rewarding. I have tons of funny stories and wonderful memories from working at a summer camp for children with disabilities. I once knew a girl with severe autism who didn’t talk or show much emotion – until one night when we had a cabin sleepover and watched Aladdin. When the first song came on, she broke into a huge grin, gave me a big bear hug, grabbed my hands, and danced and spun around the room with me. To see her that happy made me happy too.

If you could be any animal, which animal would you choose?

I would want to be a llama. They are my favorite animal because they’re soft, have huge eyelashes, and are a little funny looking. I have several stuffed llamas, llama earrings, a llama painting, a llama mousepad, llama finger puppets, and a llama calendar. Even my screensaver is a slideshow of pictures of llamas. You might call me a little llama obsessed.

What is the most embarrassing thing that has ever happened to you?

I don’t know if you’re old enough to sympathize with me on this one, but… let’s just say that I may have behaved in embarrassing ways in front of certain boys I had crushes on. Those are the moments I’d rather forget about.

What is your favorite room in your house?

I don’t live in a house right now, so I’ll tell you about my favorite place on campus instead: Sterling Memorial Library. It’s the main library on campus, and it was designed to look like a church, so it’s all gothic arches and stone carvings. Whenever I walk in, I feel like I’ve accidentally stepped into a Harry Potter book or something. The counter where you go to check out books looks like the altar of a church, and the stained glass window pictures are scenes from famous books, like Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn floating down the Mississippi River.

Here’s a picture of the outside: http://content.answers.com/main/content/wp/en-commons/thumb/a/aa/220px-Yale_Sterling_Memorial_Library.JPG

And the inside: http://www.libraryspaceplanning.com/assets/images/home/sterling-library2.gif

What is the most disturbing thing you have ever seen?

I’m in the marching band at school, and we’ve done some pretty weird things, like setting our sousaphones (the instruments, not the players) on fire. Last year, all of the trumpets got matching kilts: http://research.yale.edu/yaleband/ypmb/gallery/06-07/Harvard2/slides/DSCN6357.JPG Traditionally, you’re not supposed to wear underwear under kilts, and the trumpets claimed that they were following tradition. I think they were lying, but thankfully I never found out either way.

Responses

  1. Take 5 is my favorite “new” candy; Zagnut is my favorite candybar of all-time.

    Also, “What is your favorite room in your house?” is a great question.

  2. Matt, where do you FIND these bloggers? So many very unique blogs! You rock!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

